Raspberry pi and Attitude adjustment

HELLO! Everyone.
I want use raspberry pi to extract the data of pitch and roll,so i can use the angle data to control stepper motor . The motor drive the ball screw,then the weight will move to balance ROV.
The first step is extract the angle data.I am not good at programming.Can someone tell me this part of the code?

Hi @Richard1, welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

It’s a bit unclear to me what you’re trying to do here. You’ve mentioned you’re wanting to adjust your ROV balance with a linear actuator like a ball screw, so presumably you’re not using a standard BlueROV2. What kind of electronics setup are you using? If it’s our Advanced ROV Electronics Package you can potentially use pymavlink on the Raspberry Pi companion computer to read the relevant telemetry mavlink messages from the Pixhawk.

Of course i use raspberry 3b and pixhawk as hardware.Related debugging has been completed.Thrusters、led and camera are running well.QGC is also running well.

Now I want to write script that can collect angle information and control the stepper motor to raspberry pi .Once angle changes,linear actuator will run.I use this method to maintain ROV balance.

So at first ,i need to extract the data of pitch and roll from pixhawk. So can you tell me what should i do about this part?I am learning python and raspberry pi,I am also getting to know pymavlink.But i’m a little confused about them. :thinking:

Hi, Check our request message interval example. It requests attitude messages at a given interval.

You can additionally use master.recv_match(type='ATTITUDE') to print only ATTITUDE messages.

Hi,Can you tell me specifically what should I do in this interface to get attitude.
And do I have to have a GUI of raspberry pi?Do I have to download the pymavlink library and upgrade python?

No, you don’t need a GUI for the Raspberry Pi