Serial Tether Interface Wiring

Hello,

I am a Naval Architecture Student and my Final Project consists of building an ROV. Your solution regarding control is amazing and I have proceeded in applying it. However, I am missing some clarifications if you could help me that would be really appreciated.

1. Do we run PixHawk on the USB Connection?
  2. No RC controller? The Logitech USB controller connects to the PC and the signal is send by ground control to PixHawk through USB Tether?
<p id="serial-tether-interface-wiring">The Serial Tether Interface Wiring would be really helpful if I can get it.</p> Thanks for your help!

Phedias Demou

Hi Phedias,
You can run on the usb connection, but Lorenz Mier presents some reasons not to here.
“The USB connection has not been designed as in-flight feature and has not been tested as such. USB in general is a consumer bus and you run into a lot of stability problems (even on full-blown systems like MacOS within the operating system - just close a MacBook’s lid, unplug the (connected in software) FTDI cable and watch the hang and reboot unfold - this is entirely unrelated to our autopilot, just an example of the inherent complexity and failure cases of the bus). Given that major players like Apple still struggle with that bus, we’re not going to declare our end on the autopilot airworthy any time soon.”

That said, I have done many successful in water tests connected by usb. I have since switched over to using the purpose-built Telem ports.

No RC controller! The rc input is sent over the telemetry link on the tether.

-Jacob

Thanks Jacob for your reply!

Having said that I would like then to ask, How do you output the telemetry signal from the computer to the telemetry input of the Pixhawk?

Looking at your Website’s Guidance:

"There are several available tether interface boards that work well with ArduSub:

• To be completed."
Can you justify this? or maybe propose a solution?

Thanks again.

Phedias Demou

Hi Phedias,