Retrieve Ping Sonar data for analysis

Hello,

I’m using my BlueROV2 equipped with a Ping Sonar Altimeter & Echosounder. I also attached a GoPro camera to film the bottom.

The Ping Sonar works really well for “real-time” information, which is really useful. But I would love to retrieve the bathymetry data and use it for analysis. Ideally, I want to have a value for each image of the bottom I analyse.

Has somebody done this yet?

I have found the documentation for ping-python, but I cannot seam to convert the log file (in Binary format) into something i can use (like a .csv or something). Also, I’m really not a coder.

Can somebody help me with this?

Cheers,

Lea

Hi @katlea,

We have a sensor log decoding example in the Ping Viewer repository (since Ping Viewer creates those logs, and it defines the format).

If you’re specifically after just the distance measurements you could do something like the following (requires downloading “decode_sensor_binary_log.py”, and running this in your own python file from the same directory):

from decode_sensor_binary_log import PingViewerLogReader
from datetime import datetime, timedelta, time
from pathlib import Path
import csv

# TODO: put in the path to the log file you want to process
#  e.g. "~/My Documents/PingViewer/Sensor_Log/something.bin"
logfile = Path("/path/to/file.bin")

def to_timedelta(time_str: str) -> timedelta:
    ''' Returns a time delta from an iso-format time string. '''
    delta = time.fromisoformat(time_str)
    return timedelta(hours=delta.hour, minutes=delta.minute,
                     seconds=delta.second, microseconds=delta.microsecond)

log = PingViewerLogReader(logfile)
outfile = Path(logfile.stem).with_suffix(".csv")
# ideally it would be good to localise this to your timezone,
#  but in this case it shouldn't cause issues unless you were
#  recording the sonar data at the time of a daylight savings
#  changeover or something
start_time = datetime.strptime(logfile.stem, "%Y%m%d-%H%M%S%f")