Omni Remote controlled Surface vehicle build

Hello everyone!

We have an idea for a project that really goes beyond my current knowledge and need some help and discussion on the best way forward. Thank you in advance for your time - this will be a bit longer read.

So for starters, I have been working with BlueROV2 for approx 7 years now, been thruogh many issues like leaks, cracks, connectors, software not working… Through teamwork, we’ve managed to overcome these challenges. While I’ve researched the BlueBoat, ArduRover, Omni setup, BlueOS, and Navigator (still using Pixhawk/companion setup), I haven’t yet applied them in a specific project. But enough about me…

and more or less sucesfully in the company we managed to overcome it. I have masters in mechanical engineering and high school in mechatronics. I have checked basic information about the BlueBoat, ArduRover, BlueOS and Navigator (still on Pixhawk/companion setup), but still no project appropriate for it came - so I know basic principles how it works, but haven’t used in specific project. But enough about me :grin:

The project is planned as a remotely controlled surface vehicle, that is DC powered via cable from the boat, has 4x T500 thrusters in OmniPlus or OmniX in aluminium box from BlueRobotics, with GPS and ability to hold its position controlled via topside handheld device. The idea is to mount everything to a sea cleaning device which navigates on the surface of the sea, so it can be controlled from the boat with this electronics setup. Sea cleaning device is about 1 meter by 1 meter, has approx 40 50 kilos and is deployed form the small vessel with crane, and controlled by man force litterally pullign the device to desired location. Goal is to avoid manhandling the cleaner and instead use this setup for remote and controlled control… I will try to breakdown project and questions - I’m sure I’ve missed a lot of things so I’ll be glad for anyone to join in on the conversation.