For Pilots and Aspiring Pilots

Hi All,
I’m looking to start a discussion about piloting (learning, sharing tips and tricks, advice on technique, etc.). While I’ve been a ROV team coach/mentor for several years, I haven’t much experience piloting. Since I joined BR, I have built a fully equipped BlueROV2, practiced in my HOA pool regularly, and I’ve had one dive in the wild of Monterey Bay. I learned that it’s pretty easy to basically control the vehicle, but there’s a lot more to doing it well. I can appreciate the skill that’s required, the finesse, spatial awareness, etc., and I know that I have much to learn. Let me know if you’re interested!

8 Likes

@kurt_bluerobotics We would love to support you with this. Our pilots have extensive experience off shore with work class ROVs but love to fly the BlueROVs when not on shifts!
Working with you, we could produce a basic guide on safe operations, correct control methods and subsea work principals.
Let’s talk.

1 Like

Great idea @kurt_bluerobotics . We’ve just got our first BlueROV2 and I’m attempting to put together training materials for those who’ll use it. Can’t help but feel that I’m reinventing wheels in doing this…

1 Like

Thanks to you both for your interest. Is it possible to find a basic ROV pilot training course or curriculum outline that we could share with the community? I would use it for myself and also for the students on our MATE competition teams (I’m a coach/mentor).

I’m happy to collaborate with you but, before creating something new, I’d like to see if someone has already created something that we could leverage. Any ideas?

I agree it seems there should be something out there we can use to build on…

Flight simulators are really helpful for learning the coordination needed to fly R/C planes and helicopters. Is there something similar that we could use to practice flying the BlueROV with a controller on a home PC?

1 Like