Auto-altitude control

Hello everyone,
I’m new to the ROV world, and I’m sorry if my questions are trivial but it’s difficult to understand where to start.

I would like to use a blueROV to track the bottom of the sea and maintains a fixed atitude, and I have some questions related.
First of all, is it easy to include a new sensors in the platform? Is QGC already structured for adding different types of inputs?
The second big question regards how to control the engine to keep the distance from the bottom fixed; is it already included a modality in which the upper motors can be “self-guided” while the lateral motor are still in charge of the land pilot?

Thank you, any help would be appreciated!
Giu

1 Like

I would also like to know if altitude hold using a pinger is already implemented on ardusub and how to use it

Hello,

This feature is currently being worked on. It will likely be implemented as a new mode analog to depth-hold.

1 Like

Hi Jacob

Has this new round of updates done anything for the ability to hold Altitude, using a Ping, instead of depth?
Maybe i missed it? Or has this already been done? Or is it on the cards?

2 Likes

keen for this too!

1 Like

Hi Matt and Marcus,

We’re working on adding altitude hold right now along with support for position hold with Water Linked’s new DVL. Hopefully that’ll be in the next big release :slight_smile:

-Rusty

3 Likes

Hi everyone,

There’s an open issue here to address this feature. It should be in the next big release.

When the new release supports the DVL, will it be through UART and/or ethernet?

Hello,

Is there any update on the auto altitude?

@williangalvani I am also interested in that feature. Are there any news or some code that can be used for testing already?

Hello everyone! Nearly 5 months have passed since the last post on this thread.
We are also working on a relevant project and we want to use a Cerulean DVL in order to maintain a fixed altitude with our BlueROV2.