4 Wheel Crawler w/Rasp/Fathom X Boards for critique

I’m afraid I’m not very good at this but this is what I “think” I need to do to get my crawler running. Any CC would be appreciated. TIA!

@droneguy,
What ArduSub thruster configuration do you plan to use on the Pixhawk?
Regards,
TCIII AVD

@droneguy You need the 12V battery connected to the power supply of the Fathom X on the vehicle. The topside Fathom X can be powered by USB. If you don’t plan on having the 12V supply inside the vehicle, then there are a number of other concerns to deal with.

As far as I know, ArduRover does not support Joystick control in QGC.

-Jacob

This is what I’m using it on. Basic 4 motors on the crawler

I plan on using an Xbox 360 controller if that’s what you are referring to, not the radio in the image

I don’t necessarily have to use an external power supply so an on orboard battery would be fine too if it makes things easier.

Just that after all these years of charging batteries I thought it would be more convenient and less hassle

APM Rover does not support a joystick. You could use an RC radio for control, and the tether for telemetry/video. I think the PX4 Rover firmware might support joystick, but I know very little about the PX4 stack.

-Jacob

Actually, if you use Mission Planner, I think you might be able to use a joystick with APM Rover.

1 Like

Greetings Jacob. Ok a bit more confused now. I can’t use a xbox 360 or logitech controller with the advanced electronics package? Isn’t that how the rover is controlled?

Thanks
Scott

It isn’t a matter of using the advanced electronics package, it is a matter of the Pixhawk firmware and GCS used. QGC sends MANUAL_CONTROL messages to let the Pixhawk firmware know what the joystick inputs are. APM Rover firmware does not support this message. We added support for this message in APM Sub.

I think Mission Planner sends RC_CHANNELS_OVERRIDE messages to convey the joystick inputs, which APM Rover does support.