Electrical winch

Hi guys,

While I am waiting on parts, I did a bit of research and I started drawing the first draft of my electrical winch.

Most of it will be made from POM. It will be designed with a motor inside the drum which will also turn the level wind via a chain.

This first winch will be for surface operations but I am also paying special attention to the possibilities of having the electrics oil filled for subsea use for an eventual TMS.

Of course, I am looking at keeping everything as cost effective as possible.

Cheers,
E.

6 Likes

Do you have POM machining facilities there? If not I can recommend someone who is really good and does one offs etc etc.

Hi Kent,

We’re all geared up over here.

Is your contact in Asia?

Cheers,
E.

No, in Germany.

Hi guys,
your draft is awesome Etienne. I did a lot of work in this topic for my company in order to move a multi parameter probe within the water column of lakes for example.
I am about to start a second development cycle after building a prototypish winch. I am going to start working self employed in march and one of my services will be the ongoing development of the winch.
This is why i was thinking to get in touch with you and share experiences.

Also @TinyDiver i’d be interested in the company you were talking about - as i am also from Germany and good plastics work is always welcome.

So if you are interested in sharing thoughts and experiences i’d be happy to proceed this thread.

All the best
Tobias

BTW i also plan to offer diving inspections with a ROV - which in my mind will be a BlueROV2. I owned an OpenROV till september last year and sold it because i wish to have a BlueROV2 one day.

2 Likes

Hello Tobias,

Many thanks for your comments. I design these thing with my business. I welcome inputs but don’t plan on helping people design a competing product…

Cheers,
E.

Hi Etienne,