Converting BlueROV2 to AUV

Hello guys.

I am currently doing a school project that requires the conversion of the BlueROV2 into an AUV but I am very new to MavLink, DroneKit, ROS, Mavros and ArduSub and don’t know how they can be connected together and even if they are actually the libraries and frameworks that I should use to program and test an AUV. I also will be running OpenCV to know about the AUV’s surroundings.

I am using the BlueROV2 electronics kit that comes with a raspberry pi and a pixhawk and have experience in programming in languages C++ and Python as well.

Can someone direct me to a tutorial or give me a map or some sort??? I’m currently very clueless and don’t know where to start.

All help will be appreciated thanks :')

Hi @ashleykoh24, If you want to use mavros/mavlink/ardusub for your AUV, you should start here: ardusub.com.

When I run this code in the terminal

import pymavlink
pymavlink.__doc__
print('Called')

after during the installation process. It does not give me the expected return

Python MAVLink library - see http://www.qgroundcontrol.org/mavlink/mavproxy_startpage
Called

only Called is returned.

I’ve made sure pymavlink (2.2.21) is installed using pip freeze.

Should it still be working?

What do you expect to return, and where did you find this information? Perhaps the instructions you found are outdated.

I recommend to go by the ardusub.com instructions and GitHub - ArduPilot/pymavlink: python MAVLink interface and utilities

I expect it to return:

Python MAVLink library - see http://www.qgroundcontrol.org/mavlink/mavproxy_startpage
Called

I found it on Pymavlink · GitBook under Test Installation

Thank you @ashleykoh24. We will fix the document if necessary. Your installation is probably ok. Are you using python2 or python3? Can you please try to continue with the instructions and see if everything else is ok?

https://github.com/bluerobotics/ardusub-gitbook/issues/48