Alpha release: Simple Ping2 Survey Extension

Do you have a BlueBoat? Do you have a Ping2? I’ve got an extension for you!
@gabedbv @cyamin @mattcmgb @pob747 @Anyone else who may care… presenting:

Simple Ping2 Survey Extension

This is an ALPHA release. There are certainly bugs lurking, and I hope you can help me uncover them to minimize data loss and headache for all who may benefit in the future. Thanks!

Background

I’m no software engineer, but I am a passionate jack-of-all trades who loves working with marine tech! I developed this extension to better understand BlueOS and its extensions, and learn to work with Javascript and Vue. In the modern world of LLMs like ChatGPT and Bard, it’s easier than ever before to quickly jump into learning new software!
The Blue Robotics team is preparing to launch a sleek new product that makes using a Ping2 with a BlueBoat as easy and optimized as possible. While simply checking a box in BlueOS will make your ArduRover autopilot logs contain time-sync’d position and depth, regardless of your communications link to the vessel during the mission, there are a couple drawbacks… and so I was inspired!

Viewing data in Ping Viewer consumes more bandwidth than necessary to monitor data quality.

Logs contain all gps position and depth data, as you can quickly check with this tool, but (at least for now) confidence % from the Ping2 is not recorded. This can makes noisy data much tougher to filter!

What does this Simple solution do?

In as simple a way as I could think, the user can:

1. Start & stop position and depth data recording, and download the results.
  2. Monitor vehicle position and orientation alongside useful coloration and geometry for judging data quality.

Before use:

1. Ping2, mounted, connected, SerialPort removed from autopilot and the Ping Sonar mavlink box checked.

Here Ping2 connected to Serial 4 - Access from Autopilot menu at top left of BlueOS

2. Obtain GPS lock.