About Bluerov2_node

Hi,

I hope I’m not bothering you. I am doing my Master Thesis that is simulation and validation of an underwater system localization, probably a autonomous system in the end. So, i intend use the BlueRov2 and his ROS packages. But seems to me that some things are not implemented yet, like as lights brightness control, right? Depending on my time to do every thing of my thesis, i can contribute, so if you give me some feedback of what was not yet implemented on ROS, i will appreciate.

Best Regards,

Federico Vaz

Yes, the package is in WIP, the idea is to provide a complete access of the system using ROS.

Right now, the only thing that I can remember is:

Let me know if you need any help with the project and contributions.

Ok, good! Why you create a new “package” and din’t “continued” with MAVROS? There are some disadvantages of MAVROS that i don’t know? :thinking:

Ok, but if i understand, RC_CHANNELS_OVERRIDE message only overrides input channels 1-8. So, to overrides above input channels 8 (9-11) it’s necessary change the MAVlink, right?

MAVROS is a generic tool to control any vehicle that uses mavlink. The disadvantages is the overhead of the package, we want to create a simple ROS application to control the ROV with the ROS abstraction layer.

No, they use mavlink messages to provide this others channels, if I’m not mistaken is with manual_control, and channels > 9 is an abstraction with buttons. You can check the code here.

Ok, I understand. I will see better the two options.

It’s seems like as you said. I will organize my thoughts and decide what i will do in my project. I will keep in touch, thanks for your help! :wink:

Hi @patrickelectric,

One quickly question: the topic setpoint_velocity/cmd_vel it’s working for you? There are some pre-requesites to send a cmd_vel?

I did before:
rosrun mavros mavsys mode -c GUIDED

But the result is a timeout. I tested with your BlueROV2 node mavros and not working with real robot.