Videos and Guides

I have seen various request for information pertaining to assembly, potting etc. I don’t work for Blue Robotics; however, I do have video/audio equipment and software to create guides.

If you were able to access a video or fabrication guide, what would you be interested in seeing?

I have extensive experience in molding with various polymers and epoxies (20+ years professional) and I am an Electronics type by degree / trade. I have been doing J-STD-001 soldering for since the standard came out and the list continues.

So this is your chance to speak out. I don’t have a swimming pool etc. so don’t ask me to drive an ROV around for you, I would like to concentrate on fabrication issues. I believe that is where I could best create documents with some insight of doing similiar things for a long time.

Bottom line is that I am bored.

Great idea Harold. I think one critical area that could use a video tutorial is how to pot / seal a hull penetration using B.R. cable penetrators and epoxy. There are lots of ways to screw this up and I think a video tutorial would really help a number of people.

Harold,

Thank you for offering your time and expertise. Yup, underwater sealing, especially cable entries is the holy grail here. An article or video series showing a few options for sealing would really be appreciated.

All,

The attached document is my first go at putting together a guide for performing the potting on the Cable Penetrators. This is pretty short, but there isn’t a lot to say about this subject. Please post whatever feedback you have for improvements, comments etc.

fabrication-guide (287 KB)

Thanks a lot Harold, beautifully made and very insightful.

Thanks JL, no rotten food tossed at me on my first review!