Red filters for cameras

Hi I’m completely new to this. I’m contemplating my own design build. I recently took my GoPro snorkelling and came back with some video which was rather horrendous. Very washed out and far too blue. My question is with the cameras being used is there a need for filters or are the videos of a good standard?

Because the ROV brings it’s own light, this isn’t so much of a problem. If run without lights, you will lose your red colors and a filter is a good way to bring them back unless you know how to do it in post processing.

Thanks for the speedy reply. That makes perfect sense and has put my mind at rest.

One thing to keep in mind is that if you do use lens filters it will reduce the amount of light that reaches the camera. For this reason some photographers prefer to fix the colors in post.

It’s definitely something to consider. As @paul-unterweiser mentions, if you use a filter you will reduce the total amount of light that reaches your lens, which might not me so much of an issue on a nice sunny day, but will affect your footage on a dull overcast day, or at greater depth. Another thing to consider is that the red wavelength gets attenuated with depth, so your color filter for -30ft will not work well at -100ft. If you want to check out color filters for your Go-Pro, you could check out backscatter.com, they have all sorts of stuff.