My vectored thrust mini ROV build

I’ve designed and begun building a mini ROV using Blue Robotics components. You can follow my progress here:

http://marinesimulation.com/?page_id=1571

That’s nice, Paul. I just checked out your website as well. Very interesting. I would love to learn more about the SfM techniques you use. I am just getting into it and know very little.

@Jim N - I’ll have to dig up my notes, but I tried every app I could get my hands on and countless methods before I came up with something that worked for my particular project. As memory serves, I ended up using VisualSFM, MeshLab and some PhotoShop tools. If I get a chance I’ll post more information in a separate blog post.

Incidentally, part of my motivation for building this new ROV was a desire to do more SfM. The ROV I was using for that project lacked the maneuverability that SfM demands, which made it that much more difficult to accomplish the quality we were looking for. With vectored thrust and an open frame I’m expecting much better performance from this ROV.

Paul, nice rig :slight_smile: I was checking out your website also … another nice rig! Have you ever approached the Government about some of your stuff or are you sticking to commercial world such as Oil/Gas exploration?

We got a guy who owns a Karaoke bar here locally that is an ROV driver for some Oil/Gas style company.

The reason I asked about the Government is I know the guys up at Naval Undersea Warfare Center in Newport, RI have been playing with various ROV / AUROV items. You never know, it might be another sector to get some cash flow in. … just checked your client list. I see you got NUWC listed :slight_smile:

There’s also the NRL, Naval Research lab in D.C. The have quite the center, and a neat littoral research lab. If you catch one of there recent Spectrum magazines, they discuss tech for biologically inspired AUVs and actuators for highly maneuverable holonomic auvs. Really neat stuff.