Bar30 Pressure Sensor and I2C Troubleshooting

I am a high school teacher in Denver, and I am hoping that the two ROVs which I am building will be a major part of my Robotics course this year.

I am having perhaps a simple issue connecting the Bar30 Pressure sensor through to QGroundControl.

I snipped the Molex connector on the Bar30 Pressure Sensor and replaced it with a JST connector suitable for the I2C 2 connector on my PixHawk 2.1 (pictured)

The PixHawk is connected through a Raspberry Pi (image supplied by BlueRobotics) to QGroundControl. QGroundControl correctly readis Pixhawk compass direction, Pixhawk level, etc. data from the PixHawk (pictured). I verified that the GND_EXT_BUS parameter has been set correctly to “Bus1.”

The Accelerometer and Compass calibrated on QGroundControl without incident. When I attempt to “Calibrate Pressure” (i.e., the Bar 30 Pressure), however, I get the following message: “Calibration command failed.” I also do not get any temperature reading. QGroundControl is also reporting the following “Vehicle Health” warning “Absolute pressure.”

Is there any way I can troubleshoot the I2C connection to determine if the issue is related to QGroundControl, the Bar 30 Pressure Sensor, my JST rewiring, Mavproxy, etc.?

Thanks…

For Pixhawk 2 set gnd_ext_bus to 2/second bus and reboot. Let me know if that works.

Thank you for your reply.

On QGroundControl’s GND_EXT_BUS, there are three options: 1) Disabled, 2) Bus 0, and 3) Bus 1. Previously, I had the parameter set to Bus 1. There was not an option for Bus 2, so I manually entered a 2, as you suggested.

Unfortunately, this did not change the sensor calibration response.

I also tried all nine combinations of GND_EXT_BUS (Disabled, Bus0, and Bus1) and GND_PRIMARY (FirstBaro, 2ndBaro, and 3Baro) resets, again, without success.