QGC necessary? (or custom interface possible)

Hi. I’m new to BlueRov2 and I am wondering if QGC is necessary to use the device?

I want to make a custom interface instead (if this is possible) mainly for educational purposes. As I am studying Software Engineering and want to learn if interfaces like these are hard to recreate/ understand or even customise.

Any tips or advice for what I should look out to while working on this?

Hi @Mina, welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

No, not particularly. If you have a look at the BlueROV2’s Software Components you can see that QGroundControl (QGC) is just one part of the system, and if you make an alternative ground control software (GCS) that can accept the relevant inputs and transmit the relevant outputs then you can replace QGC. There are already a few options discussed in the Third Party Products / Ground Control Software forum category, which may give some idea of what others have tried and how they’ve approached it.

QGC is open source - you can customise it as much as you want and build your own versions of it, and they have a developer guide for getting started with that. Note that QGC is quite complex, particularly because it’s made to support several vehicle types which ROVs are only one of, so it includes several features and components that aren’t relevant to or used when controlling our ROVs.

For a standard BlueROV2, the only required component for controlling it is a mavlink stream, using the common and ardupilotmega message sets. You can use pymavlink to get started with that, but if you’re planning to make a full GCS and want it to be high performance then you’ll probably want to use a compiled option instead.