Help me to build my project please

Hi Josh, Joe and all scubcribers

I am a complete novice in the ROV/AUV arena. I am trying to build a two thruster deltawing (triangular shape) AUV (?) that is autonomous - meaning, with my limited knowledge - that the AUV contains its own power supply built into the wing. I visualise that I will need two t-200 thrusters with integrated ESC, a compact battery (that will provide the optimum performance i.e. running time at average thrust/speed), a suitable micro-controller, an external waterproof ON/OFF switch, externally mounted LED battery condition/status lights, a GPS transponder and ?? (what other electronics will be required for the basic operational system?)…

Please help. Thanks

Darryl

Hi Darryl,

Thanks for posting! Sounds like an interesting project. There are a few things to consider.

1. Are you planning to have control surfaces like an airplane? If not, how will you control the AUV?

2. There are lots of battery options. We are using lithium polymer batteries. The size required depends on your desired endurance and expected average thruster speed.

3. GPS doesn’t work underwater since radio waves don’t travel well underwater. Subsea vehicles have to navigate via other means, usually sonar or dead reckoning.

I’m sure others will have thoughts to contribute as well!

-Rusty

Darryl,

First, all of Rusty’s comments apply … but here are some thoughts that you can expand on. Please grab dinner and a cup of coffee, I can type for a while at times!