T200 Thruster Cutting Out

Hello All,

I’m new to the T200 thruster and I am testing my Arduino control circuit before mounting the final setup on my surface vehicle. My power source is a 36V, 20Ah Lipo E-bike battery. My intent is to run 2 T200 thrusters at 18V by using a buck converter with each of the two Basic ESCs to step the original battery voltage down. The battery is capable of supplying 30A, so my plan was to limit the thrusters to 15A each. These are the max values that each buck converter is set to supply: 15A at 18V.

For my test, I am running a single thruster/Basic ESC setup and controlling the throttle with a 10K pot and Arduino Mega. After looking at the data plot that showed current draw relative to the PWM input values, I set the input value range from 1184 to 1816 microseconds. This range looked as if it would give me ~15A in the forward and reverse directions on the 18V curve.

When I attempt to test the thruster, I can reach roughly 50% of full throttle (~6 to 7A of current draw) but then the thruster appears to “bog down” before completely coming to a stop shortly after. The thruster emits a beeping noise similar to the initial arming sound and will not re-arm until the pot is returned back to its center “0” position.

My thoery as of now is that the thruster is starved of current. I’ve tried it with both of the thrusters that I have and both exhibit the same behavior. I also tried to adjust the buck converter in the test circuit to the maximum amperage setting (20A), but this didn’t solve the problem either. I figured that I wouldn’t achieve completely nominal results, but I also figured I would at least be able to exceed 50% throttle.

I apologize for the long-winded post. Any insights as to why the thruster is cutting out would be hugely appreciated.

Thank you,
Nick

Hi @nick123jo, welcome to the forum :slight_smile: