Protection for a spare 6-inch O-ring flange

I bought a spare 6-inch O-ring flange so I can keep an alternative setup on hand for easy swapping on my 6-inch enclosure. Do you have a recommendation for how to protect the outside of the flange and the o-rings when it isn’t inserted into the enclosure? It seems like a very short section of the 6inch acrylic tube or something would do, but that would be a custom order from the plastics supplier. Is there any other hack that works well to keep the O-rings and edges nice and safe?

Hi @rangewider,

I don’t have any particular ideas for this, but I’m interested in the context surrounding it. Given the care required to avoid particles/dust/hair/etc getting on the flange and compromising the seal even just while installing the flange (particularly when it’s large), it may well be easier and quicker to replace just the end cap (and possibly the face-seal o-ring), and leave the flange in place.

Hmm. I’m very new to this. In fact, I’m just getting my first two setups together now. (The Blue Robotics parts arrive later this week.) I clearly have much to learn. Here’s what I have planned. Maybe I need to switch up. Please advise.

I am using the enclosure to house an audio recorder. I need to get in and out of the enclosure every day multiple times to turn the recorder on and off, change batteries, and retrieve recordings. I thought that you pulled the flange to do this, but from your response, I gather that’s not the case and I should unscrew the end cap. Is that right? Could you point me at the directions for how to install the flange super carefully and also how to best take off and put the end cap back on? This is an easy adjustment to my plan. One of my ends is blank, and I can use that for access.