How to display Ping1D data from USV using PingViewer on Ground Station

Good morning,

I purchased the Ping1D to mount on a boogie board a few months ago to do some basic freshwater mapping with a USV for my senior capstone. I’m using an RPi and Navio2 with Sik 915MHz telemetry radios and have collected 30,000+ data points that I’ve gridded up using Matlab. These surveys were done using the default parameters from Blue Robotics, and without any post-processing. I can run the board on either MP or QGC, but would like to be able to run PingViewer on my laptop at the same time to see the data coming in in wave form, as well as adjust the gains, and sound speed. I’ve been digging around in the forums for a few weeks trying to wrap my head around things since I’m still new to configuring/troubleshooting robotics, but I was wondering if someone could steer me in the right direction to be able to adjust these parameters and model the data on the fly for a USV. Any tips or tricks would be greatly appreciated and I’d be happy to share the results of this project once I get a little more functionality out of it.

Thank you for your interest,
-Jake

Hi @Slarskey,

You’ll need to add a second radio or connect via wifi/4g with your vessel to create a communication link with your vehicle and ping-viewer.
Since you’re using a single radio that’s using mavlink to do the communication, is not possible to use the same radio to transmit both mavlink and ping-protocol at the same time.

2 Likes

Thank you for your help Patrick. I am now unable to connect the sonar to Mission Planner and QGC. Here is what I have configured on the RPi and in mission planner. I’ve looked through old forum posts about how to connect it which worked while I collected my initial dataset, but now it is not registering. Is there something that I am overlooking in the configuration?

Best,
-Jake