First ROV Project - Construction Starting Soon

I am new to the ROV scene, but have always been fascinated with them. So I have designed one in CAD and have actively been sourcing parts and equipment. I have some programming experience (C, C++, VC++, VB, LISP, and AutoLISP). I purchased (2) Arduino Mega 2560’s, 8- Arduino UNO’s, Manuals, and various tubing, cameras, etc. I plan to form the hull out of fiberglass with a 1/2" thick acrylic camera window in the bow. I have two 12vdc solenoid valves for the ballast tank control. The air tank will be 7" dia. steel pipe, 10 inches long. 2- 18ah agm 12vdc motorcycle batteries for power. The tether is 1/16" stainless steel braided wire ~150’ long and 2- cat6 data cables to controls on the surface. I will be using a Logitech Wingman Pro 3D extreme joystick for ROV controls. The overall size of the ROV is 40"L x 14"W x 10"H excluding thrusters and vertical control surfaces(rudders). Max dive depth will most likely be under 120’ as it is intended for freshwater inland lake use.

1 Like

First thought in my mind when I looked at the picture was of an old Typhoon class Russian submarine :slight_smile:

Question about the ballast system … are you using it to just sink and rise to the surface or what? Was curious as to your design configuration for that system.