Changeing Frame Config/ Uploading ArduSub

Hey Im a little new to blue rov but I am currently attempting to upload new ardusub code to my pixhawk in order to change my “frame configuration”. This is a parameter which exists in ArduSub but doesn’t in the default code.

I downloaded the basic ardusub code and attempted to upload it. Unfortunately, I now have an error message that says it is missing (I think) all of the necessary parameters, and has a different set.

Most importantly its missing things such as the flight configuration.

If anyone could help me figure this out it would be great. I can re-flash the basic bluerov2 firmware and make it work again but I want to be able to modify the firmware.

Its obvious I’m missing something basic.

@nick_tesla,
Is your ROV a BlueROV2 or a custom design?
Regards,
TCIII AVD

Frame is custom, everything else is blue rov2.

Did you upload the parms file? You vcan follow the link from the Ardusub page.

http://firmware.ardusub.com/parameters/latest/bluerov2.params

Yes I tried that. It just creates a whole list of “ignored” parameters.

Essentially whatever I uploaded (should have been the master of ardusub) wasn’t the same format as what came on the blue rov2.

I replaced that with the 3.5 branch of ardusub and it works exactly like the default firmware.

However, it appears the devs hadn’t added the “frame configuration” in version 3.5.

Anyone have any idea how to make a more recent version work?

My next step is to just modify the 3.5 version and write my only implimentation of a custom frame. Doesn’t seem like that would be too hard.

Hi Ian,

You need to use a recent build of QGC with ArduSub 3.5:

Windows
Mac
Linux

We are working towards an announcement with instructions on updating to ArduSub 3.5.

-Jacob

Thanks this has solved my situation.

However you should know that pulling from the companion github breaks the tether’s connection’s startup. The MAVProxy doesnt start.