Batteries topside or in wtc?

hi everyone

I am relatively new to the rov building game and I was wondering what sort of solutions builders had come up with for the following issues with batteries:

1/.topside or attached to rov or inside or wtc. (when I say topside, I am assuming the new tether will carry power down)

2/if in the acrylic wtc or other custom watertight container, what sort of saltwater resistant external connectors could you use so you don’t have to take the batteries out to recharge them at the end of use?

3/. what sort of batteries, how many and what ah should I be looking at?

hopefully somebody has the time to reply and save me blundering further along with my low knowledge base and stop me adding to my collection of wrong direction prototypes cluttering up an already cluttered workshop.

thanks

JohnG

Hi John,

Thanks for the post. These are good questions.

1. Our stuff is designed to be battery powered with the batteries contained on the ROV. It’s pretty difficult to send power down through the tether due to power losses in the long tether. On commercial ROVs this is done with high voltage (300+V) power.

2. There are connectors you can use but most are fairly expensive. You can look into Subconn and Seacon. There are some available on amronintl.com. Make sure they have enough current rating to handle the thrusters. You may have to double up pins to get that (like 4 pins positive, 4 pins negative, for example).

3. I would recommend lithium polymer or lithium ion batteries. We have a battery guide on our documentation with some recommendations: Battery Selection

I hope this helps!

-Rusty