Basic ESC setup

Hi all,

I am looking for some information on how to set up a basic ESC using Arduino. I have several questions as follows:

1. When the ESC is powered on, the red and green lights briefly flash and then no lights at all. What does this mean?
  2. My ESC only has two control wires coming out of it (orange+brown). All diagrams I have seen all have three. Should my ESC have three?
  3. For testing purposes, I am using the ESC with a single phase two wire motor, we have not committed to buying a T100 yet. Can i still control a two wire motor with the ESC by connecting two of the output legs?
  4. I have tried several different codes, and none of them seem to work. I have tried the code in the Basic ESC documentation with no results.
If anyone has any solutions, it would be greatly appreciated. I would like to be able to control a motor using a potentiometer, Arduino, basic ESC, and motor. I am new to coding and Arduino, but have lots of electrical experience.

Best,

Mac

Hi Mac,

Controlling an ESC is a great introduction to using and programming an Arduino, and was one of my first experiences with the Arduino system. To answer your questions:

1. The lights both come on at startup to indicate power on an normal functionality. The green light blinks quickly several times to indicate the voltage as a multiple of the equivalent voltage of a lithium polymer cell. The green light also shines when the ESC is in neutral at 1500us to indicate a ready state. The red light would also flash in sequence to indicate an error if one occurred.

2. The manufacturer of the BasicESC has recently stopped producing the design with three wires, and is now only producing the two wire design you have with no BEC. The middle red wire is not a control wire, rather it is an auxiliary 5V output to power other electronics. There is no difference in functionality between the two designs other than the lack of a 5V BEC.